How much to budget per guest for wedding food and drink
About $82 per guest for food and drink in the United States: 28 % of the published $292 average cost per guest (The Knot 2026 Real Weddings Study, press release 2026-02-18, read 2026-09-19; share from WeddingWire Newlywed Report, "Wedding Budget Breakdown", percentages of the total, read 2026-09-19). The same maths gives £78 in the UK and A$45 in Australia, where the published table gives the reception venue a far larger line and catering a smaller one. Below: the figure per country, what it comes to for 50 to 200 guests, and the other lines that grow with every name on the list.
Open the cost per guest calculator
How much is wedding food and drink per guest?
Per guest = the country’s published average cost per guest x the published share of the food and drink line in its budget table; the last column is that figure at the country’s average guest count. The cost per guest calculator gives the whole-wedding figure and the wedding budget calculator the line itself for your own guest count and total. The United States line is catering plus bar services in the published table, so it is food and drink together; the Australian table reports the reception venue on its own, which leaves a smaller catering line, so the two lines are best read together.
| Country | Share of the budget | Per guest | At the average guest count |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 28 % | $82 | $9,566 (117 guests) |
| United Kingdom | 28 % | £78 | £5,760 (74 guests) |
| Canada | 28 % | C$53 | C$8,236 (154 guests) |
| Australia | 10 % | A$45 | A$3,825 (85 guests) |
What does food and drink cost for 50, 100 or 150 guests?
Guests x the per-guest figure, next to the whole wedding at the same count. In the United States: $4,088 for 50 guests, $8,176 for 100, $12,264 for 150, at $82 per guest. The line is proportional to the list, which is why the headcount is the first decision: the how many guests to invite guide works from the headcount you can afford back to the invitations.
| Guests | Food and drink | Whole wedding |
|---|---|---|
| 30 | $2,453 | $8,760 |
| 50 | $4,088 | $14,600 |
| 75 | $6,132 | $21,900 |
| 100 | $8,176 | $29,200 |
| 125 | $10,220 | $36,500 |
| 150 | $12,264 | $43,800 |
| 200 | $16,352 | $58,400 |
What else costs money per guest?
Every line of the budget divided by the guests gives a per-guest figure, but only some of them grow with each name: the meal, the cake, the favours and the stationery are bought per head; the photographer, the band and the dress are not. For 100 guests in the United States the per-head lines are food and drink $82, invitations and stationery $9, cake $6, favours and gifts $6; the venue is priced per head at some places and per room at others. The budget breakdown guide shows the whole table as percentages.
| Category | Share | Amount for 100 guests | Per guest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Venue | 20 % | $5,840 | $58 |
| Food and drink | 28 % | $8,176 | $82 |
| Photography | 6 % | $1,752 | $18 |
| Videography | 6 % | $1,752 | $18 |
| Music and entertainment | 7 % | $2,044 | $20 |
| Flowers and decor | 8 % | $2,336 | $23 |
| Attire, hair and make-up | 9 % | $2,628 | $26 |
| Rings | 2 % | $584 | $6 |
| Invitations and stationery | 3 % | $876 | $9 |
| Cake | 2 % | $584 | $6 |
| Transport | 2 % | $584 | $6 |
| Favours and gifts | 2 % | $584 | $6 |
| Planner | 3 % | $876 | $9 |
| Ceremony and officiant | 2 % | $584 | $6 |
From the national average to a caterer’s quote
The figures above are averages across a whole country, mixing plated dinners and buffets, city hotels and village halls, open bars and cash bars. A quote is per head, so multiply it by the headcount you plan for, add whatever it lists separately (service, tax, corkage, the bar package, the children’s and suppliers’ meals), and put the total next to the food and drink line. The wedding guest list keeps the expected headcount and the meal choices as answers come in, so the multiplication stays current. The result is a planning estimate, not financial advice.
Sources
- United States, average cost per guest: The Knot 2026 Real Weddings Study (more than 10,000 US couples married in 2025), press release 2026-02-18: published "average of $292 per guest, up $8 per guest from 2024" (34,000 / 117 guests = $291, consistent) — https://www.theknotww.com/press-releases/the-knot-worldwide-unveils-2026-real-weddings-study Read on 2026-09-19.
- United States, budget by category: WeddingWire Newlywed Report, "Wedding Budget Breakdown" (article dated 2020-12-10; the report year is not stated on the page), percentages of the total: venue, catering, cake and rentals 50 %; photography and videography 12 %; attire, hair and beauty 9 %; flowers, lighting and decor 8 %; reception music 7 %; wedding planner 3 %; invitations and stationery 3 %; officiant and ceremony music 2 %; transportation 2 %; wedding rings 2 %; favors and gifts 2 % — https://www.weddingwire.com/wedding-ideas/wedding-budget-breakdown. Mapping onto this table: the 50 % line is split between venue (20 %), food and drink (28 %) and cake (2 %) in the proportion of Zola's 2026 Wedding Cost Index averages (venue and site fees $8,573; catering $6,927 plus bar services $5,542; cake and desserts $917 — https://www.zola.com/expert-advice/whats-the-average-cost-of-a-wedding), and the 12 % line between photography (6 %) and videography (6 %) by Zola's $4,400 and $3,993; whole percents by largest remainder; "other and contingency" is 0 % because the published table already adds up to 100 % Read on 2026-09-19.
- United Kingdom, average cost per guest: Bridebook UK Wedding Report 2026 (7,000 UK couples, weddings held in 2025): published "average cost per wedding guest in the UK is around £278" (Hitched 2026: £272 per head — https://www.theknotww.com/press-releases/the-average-cost-of-a-wedding-in-2026-around-21990-according-to-hitched) — https://bridebook.com/uk/article/how-much-does-a-wedding-cost-the-uk-average Read on 2026-09-19.
- United Kingdom, budget by category: Bridebook UK Wedding Report 2026 (7,000 UK couples, weddings held in 2025), share of the total budget: venue hire and catering 51 %; wedding attire 19 %; photography and videography 10 %; flowers and decor 7 %; entertainment 7 %; other suppliers and extras 6 % — https://bridebook.com/uk/article/how-much-does-a-wedding-cost-the-uk-average. Mapping onto this table: the 51 % line is split between venue (23 %) and food and drink (28 %) in the proportion of the same report's average supplier spend (venue excluding catering £6,040; catering £5,406 reception plus £2,002 evening), and the 10 % line between photography (5 %) and videography (5 %) by £1,484 and £1,514; whole percents by largest remainder; rings, stationery, cake, transport, favours, planner and ceremony sit inside Bridebook's "other suppliers and extras" (6 %, kept as "other and contingency"), so those lines start at 0 % until you type your quotes Read on 2026-09-19.
- Canada, average cost per guest: Derived: C$29,450 / 154 guests = C$191 per guest, both from WeddingWire Canada, "How Much Does the Average Wedding Cost in Canada?", citing its Global Wedding Report (article dated 2020-05-29; the data year is not stated on the page and no newer Canadian survey with a national average was found); no Canadian cost per guest is published — https://www.weddingwire.ca/wedding-ideas/how-much-does-the-average-wedding-cost-in-canada--c1677 Read on 2026-09-19.
- Canada, budget by category: No published Canadian table of budget shares was found (Today's Bride Canada gives editorial ranges, not survey data), so the US table is used for Canada; edit the shares to match your quotes. US table: WeddingWire Newlywed Report, "Wedding Budget Breakdown" (article dated 2020-12-10; the report year is not stated on the page), percentages of the total: venue, catering, cake and rentals 50 %; photography and videography 12 %; attire, hair and beauty 9 %; flowers, lighting and decor 8 %; reception music 7 %; wedding planner 3 %; invitations and stationery 3 %; officiant and ceremony music 2 %; transportation 2 %; wedding rings 2 %; favors and gifts 2 % — https://www.weddingwire.com/wedding-ideas/wedding-budget-breakdown. Mapping onto this table: the 50 % line is split between venue (20 %), food and drink (28 %) and cake (2 %) in the proportion of Zola's 2026 Wedding Cost Index averages (venue and site fees $8,573; catering $6,927 plus bar services $5,542; cake and desserts $917 — https://www.zola.com/expert-advice/whats-the-average-cost-of-a-wedding), and the 12 % line between photography (6 %) and videography (6 %) by Zola's $4,400 and $3,993; whole percents by largest remainder; "other and contingency" is 0 % because the published table already adds up to 100 % Read on 2026-09-19.
- Australia, average cost per guest: Derived: A$38,252 / 85 guests = A$450 per guest, both from Easy Weddings, 11th Annual Australian Wedding Industry Report 2026 (4,000+ couples); no Australian cost per guest is published — https://www.easyweddings.com.au/articles/wedding-cost/ and https://www.easyweddings.com.au/pro-education/2026-wedding-budget/ Read on 2026-09-19.
- Australia, budget by category: Easy Weddings, 11th Annual Australian Wedding Industry Report 2026 (4,000+ couples), "How much does a wedding cost in Australia?" (2026-03-06): the venue share is published ("46% of their entire budget on the reception venue alone"); the remaining 54 % is split in the proportion of the same report's average spend per category: catering A$6,177; photography A$3,567; videography A$3,125; flowers A$2,639 plus decorations A$2,849; wedding dress A$2,591 plus formal wear A$2,102, bridesmaids dresses A$645 and hair and makeup A$992 (attire); wedding music A$2,142 plus photo booths A$1,038 (music); wedding cars A$1,223 (transport); celebrant A$1,031 (ceremony); invitations A$1,001 (stationery); cakes A$645; bomboniere A$678 (favours); wedding hire A$2,203 (other and contingency); whole percents by largest remainder. Engagement rings (A$6,842) are left out as a purchase made before the wedding budget, and no wedding-ring or planner spend is published, so those lines start at 0 % — https://www.easyweddings.com.au/articles/wedding-cost/ Read on 2026-09-19.
Frequently asked questions
- How much should I budget per guest for wedding food?
- $82 per guest as a United States starting point: the food and drink share of 28 % applied to the published average of $292 per guest. A caterer's per-head quote replaces it; the national average hides the gap between a plated dinner in a city hotel and a buffet in a village hall.
- Does the cost per guest for food include drinks?
- In the United States figure, yes: the published line the share comes from is catering plus bar services, so it is food and drink together. Other publishers may count the bar in the venue package or leave it out, which is one reason the countries differ; the source text under each table says what its line holds.
- How much does wedding food cost for 100 guests?
- About $8,176 at the United States starting figure of $82 per guest; $4,088 for 50 guests and $12,264 for 150. Guests x the per-head price, so the list is the lever: ten fewer guests is ten times the per-head price saved.
- What is the wedding food cost per head in the UK?
- £78 per guest as a starting point: the UK table's food and drink share of 28 % applied to the published £278 average per guest (Bridebook UK Wedding Report 2026, read 2026-09-19). The same source reports reception catering and evening catering as separate spends, both inside this line.
- Why is the Australian figure so much lower?
- Because the Australian publisher reports 46 % of the budget as the reception venue alone and catering as a separate 10 %, against 28 % in the United States table; venues that package the meal into the room hire move money from one line to the other. The per-guest figure follows the table, so compare a quote with the two lines together.
- How do I turn a per-head quote into a budget line?
- Multiply it by the headcount you plan for, not by the number of invitations: not everyone says yes. The guest list shows the expected headcount at your response rate and the meal choices per guest as answers arrive, and the how many guests to invite guide explains the rate. Add service, tax and the corkage or bar package the quote lists separately.
More guides
- Average wedding cost in the UK for 50 guests (and 30 to 200)
What 50 guests cost at the published UK average per guest, the same for 30 to 200 guests, below and above average, and where the money goes by category.
- How much does a wedding cost in Canada?
The published Canadian average wedding cost and guest count, the cost per guest they imply, totals for 30 to 200 guests and what C$20,000 covers.
- How much does a wedding cost in Australia?
The published Australian average wedding cost, guest count and cost per guest, totals for 30 to 200 guests and the budget breakdown with the venue at 46 %.
- How much does a wedding cost for 100 guests?
What 100 guests cost at the published US, UK, Canadian and Australian averages, below and above average, split by category, and whether $20,000 is enough.
Last updated 2026-09-21. Figures are planning estimates built from published averages, each with its source and year: your own quotes and your guest list replace them.